Nida Dar Becomes The First Pakistani Bowler to Take 100 T20I Wickets

Nida Dar Becomes The First Pakistani Bowler to Take 100 T20I Wickets

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has congratulated Nida Dar on achieving the title of the ‘first Pakistan bowler to take 100 T20I wickets’ across men’s and women’s games.

Nida made the achievement on Wednesday in the first out of the three T20Is between Pakistan Women and West Indies Women when she took the wicket of ‘Deandra Dottin’ in the 10th over of the first innings.

She is the only fifth bowler in women’s cricket to become part of the 100-T20I wickets club.

PCB Chief Executive Wasim Khan stated: “I congratulate Nida Dar on becoming the first-ever bowler from Pakistan to create a record of a century of wickets in T20Is.”

“This is not an ordinary achievement and is evidence of Nida’s hard work and dedication for years. Over the last decade, the off-spinner has flourished into an integral part of the Pakistan women’s team and inspiration now for the next generation of women cricketers,” he added.

“It is a great moment for Nida as well as the whole nation as she is also the first Asian woman bowler to create this milestone. She is an icon and inspiration to millions of young girls who have a passion for cricket and follow the game,” said Wasim Khan.

“In an age when women’s cricket is prosperous and its fan base is getting more day-by-day, role models like her would play a role in taking the women’s game to the corners of the earth,” he further stated.

The other four women bowlers who have crossed the 100-wicket mark in cricket include Anisa Mohammed from West Indies (120), Ellyse Perry from Australia (115), Shabnum Ismail from South Africa(110), and Anya Shrubsole from England (102). From the Asian teams, India’s Poonam Yadav, with 95 wickets, comes next to Nida in the list of highest T20I wicket-takers.

Amongst Pakistan’s women bowlers, former captain Sana Mir (got retirement in 2020), is the second most wicket-taker with 89 wickets at 23.42, third comes Sadia Yousuf, by taking 57 wickets in a career which spanned from 2010 till 2017, and Anam Amin (54 wickets at 20.22) is at the fourth position.

Read more: Zainab Barkat Becomes The First Pakistani Wheel Chair Bound Table Tennis Champion

Amongst Pakistan’s men cricketers, legendary ex all-rounder Shahid Afridi is on the top with 97 T20I wickets.