KU's Decision To Continue A Two-year Degree Programme

KU's Decision To Continue  A Two-year Degree Programme

The University of Karachi finally announced to continue the two-year conventional degree programme, as per a statement issued by the varsity.

The decision was taken during a meeting of the KU Academic Council on Thursday on the two-year associate degree programme suggested by the Higher Education Commission (HEC).

In the meantime,  a committee about the phase-wise implementation of two-year associate degree and four-year BS programmes is also established by the Academic Council.

The committee includes Professor Dr Anila Amber Malik, Professor Dr Samina Saeed, Professor Dr Intikhab Ulfat, Professor Dr Maqsood Ali Ansari, Professor Dr Nadeem Mahmood and Professor Dr Taseer Ahmed Khan.

The Academic Council meeting took place at the Arts Auditorium and was led by the KU Vice-Chancellor Professor Dr Khalid Mahmood Iraqi.

This year, in April, the University of Karachi had decided to resume enrolling students for two-year BA/BSc degree programmes.

Last year, the Higher Education Commission (HEC) had requested all the public as well as private universities along with their affiliated colleges to abolish two-year BA/BSc degree programmes.

Read more: IBA Launches A Two-year Programme ‘MS in Development Studies’

As per a notification issued by the HEC, it will not recognise the degrees any more undertaken after the 2018 academic year.